Those who remain (How to know your true friends)

img1464336482819

I heard a story of a guy who wanted to get married with fifty of his friends attending, it’s not the number I will go for, but I still will want a small wedding. I think this guy delegates the invitation of his fifty friends to his father who gladly takes charge. Bells ringing, that clichΓ©  wedding song starts playing, and there sits fifteen guests. The horror! I know. 

I don’t know if it was before the wedding, most likely after, but this guy is furious with his dad and confronts him about the poor job done. Yeah his father is a shitty organizer right? He couldn’t get fifty people together. Well his father’s response is amazing. He says something like ‘Son I told every single one of your friends you were in trouble and needed help, but only fifteen of them showed up.’ Why the old man decided to teach his son who his true friends are on his wedding day,  I don’t know, but it got me thinking, who really are my true friends?

I wasn’t the only one thinking this, apparently my sister was too. You see it was her birthday a few days ago, and she’s one of those haters of birthday hypes and celebrations, she’s more of the I want to go to a quiet place and reflect kind of people,but some of us still wanted to do something for her. So we planned, it wasn’t the best plan, but it was sweet and simple. The day after her birthday when she least expected it, even after I had mistakenly given us away to her and had to lie to cover it up (she still didn’t get we were up to something :)) we dashed into her room, and yeah screams followed, lots of piercing annoying screams her neighbors  were not fond of.

We were five and a half, haha!! Five adults and one baby, okay six and it was enough. She didn’t need the multitude at Bethsaida to attend. She said something after we had all spoken, she said ‘Today I was thinking about who my friends are, my real friends and I couldn’t really answer, but now I know, you guys are my real friends.’ And we all went like awwwwwwwwwwww.

It was a confirmation of my thoughts, how do you know your true friends?

I say those who remain, when all is said and done. Those who still stay when they see you make a mess of yourself. Those who can still hold your hand even when it’s stained with the worst sin. Those who still have a kind word for you after seeing you freak out aka manifest and say the most hurtful things. Those who still remain after so many years, even though you told them to go and let you be. They are hard to find, I know. How do you know them then?

Your birthday is one easy way to know your true friends, to know who will go all out to do something for you, no matter how little. Look beyond the thousand group messages on Whatsapp and Facebook and even the changing of display pictures and see those who really go all the way to make your day a little brighter. Look to those who leave their homes, those who spend their last money, those who sing with their bad voices just to make you feel more loved. In my opinion, these are your true friends.

They are usually few in number, heck! some people don’t have one, it makes you want to look into your life and treasure all your true friends, whether they are two, one, four, five, five and half, and if you don’t have one, then you need to think again.

About this scripture I mean . . .

Proverbs 18:24 King (KJV) A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly: and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother.

Oh wait! You thought I was going to say the people in your life are the bad ones right? Haha  Oh no! I agree with the bible, you may be the problem, not them. πŸ™‚

_Lorraine Stitch

 

Leave a Reply

